## NATIONAL CONFERENCE ON PHARMACEUTICAL RESEARCH

## ABSTRACT OF THE PROCEEDINGS.

The 16th annual meeting held in the Hotel Pennsylvania, New York, N. Y., August 14, 1937.

## FIRST SESSION, 2:00 P.M.

- 1. Call to Order by Chairman Gathercoal.
- 2. Appointment of Nominating Committee. Doctors Scoville, Nitardy and Osol.
- 3. The year's activities were summarized by Chairman Gathercoal. He emphasized the increasing value of the Annual Survey and Census of Research.
- 4. Reports of Officers.
  - (a) Report of Secretary, John C. Krantz, Jr.
  - (b) Report of Treasurer, Fitzgerald Dunning. The report showed a balance of \$695.50.
  - (c) Report of Executive Committee by Secretary John C. Krantz, Jr.
- 5. Reports of Standing Committees.
  - (1) Physical Chemistry, Arthur Osol, Chairman.
  - (2) Bacteriology and Immunology, Louis Gershenfeld, Chairman.
  - (3) Pharmacognosy, Heber W. Youngken, Chairman.
  - (4) Pharmacology and Bioassays, James C. Munch, Chairman.
  - (5) Medicinal Chemicals, Joseph Rosin, Chairman.
  - (6) Endocrinology, Arthur Grollman, Chairman.
  - (7) Manufacturing Pharmacy, L. Wait Rising, Chairman.
  - (8) Pharmaceutical Dispensing, William J. Husa, Chairman.
  - (9) Educational Methods, A. B. Lemon, Chairman.
  - (10) Pharmaceutical Economics, Harry S. Noel, Chairman.
  - (11) Historical Pharmacy, Charles H. LaWall, Chairman.
  - (12) Census of Research, James C. Munch, Chairman.
- 6. Report from Plant Science Seminar, Miss Katherine Graham.
- 7. Adjournment for Dinner.

## EVENING SESSION, 8:00 P.M.

- Address by Dr. Arthur Grollman, Johns Hopkins Medical School, "The Adrenal Glands." Symposium on Deterioration.
  - (a) Digitalis Preparations, James C. Munch.
  - (b) Pepsin Preparations, E. N. Gathercoal.
  - (c) Ergot Preparations, M. J. Thompson.
  - (d) Syrup of Ferrous Iodide, William J. Husa.
- 9. Election and Installation of Officers.
  - (a) President, George D. Beal.
  - (b) Vice-President, William J. Husa.
  - (c) Secretary, John C. Krantz, Jr.
  - (d) Treasurer, Fitzgerald Dunning.
  - (e) Executive Committee, H. V. Arny, J. C. Munch and F. E. Bibbins.
- 10. Adjournment.